Nestlé Walnut Whip

I did not have any clue what that was. I knew it was some kind of chocolate mountain topped with a walnut, and with a vanilla flavored fondant cream centre, but hey, what does that tell me as long as I’ve never seen/eaten anything alike?

Even though you do not see any vanilla, you smell a scent of it after opening the shiny blue foil.

The Whip is not filled to the top with vanilla, but as it is really sickly sweet, this is rather good than bad. So, yeah, the cream is sickly, though it contains a sour edge. That’s probably the tartaric acid mentioned on the ingredient list. I put some cream on the walnut and this combination is just awesome! The bitterness of the almond is taken away and it leaves some kind of ‘wow’-effect behind. I am not sure how to eat this thing: Should I eat the vanilla cream and the chocolate simultaneously, or is it meant to be eaten each on its own? I go for a mix of both ways.

The chocolate “layer” is 3mm thick and the ground even thicker, but it is not really rich of chocolate. One can sense the milk better than the chocolate and the ingredients show that sugar is the main component of the layer. Combined with the sickly vanilla fondant, it’s really too much! I am glad I don’t get a toothache.

All in all I think it’s a nice and unique idea, but I would rather go for something different. What about a dark chocolate version?

5 out of 10

Name: Walnut Whip Vanilla
Branch: Nestlé
Price: 0.69 Euro
Calories: 174kcal per whip, 495kcal per 100g

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Alan said,

    I always enjoyed Walnut Whips, but sadly in the last few years the quality has deteriorated somewhat. The cone was a bit different and also the filling too. Many moons ago, back in the 1950’s, long before I was alive even they were made by a company called MacDonalds and the centre was, I think, much more like real cream and had a walnut in the bottom aswell. At somepoint they were taken over by Rowntrees, which later became part of Nestle. They actually did a coffee flavoured one and at one point a strawberry flavour aswell but they were long since discontinued! I’m pretty sure that under Rowntrees they will have tasted much better, certainly a hundred times better than now lol

  2. 2

    Doublesided said,

    My dad loves these – but they are not for me.

  3. 3

    Sharon Bradley said,

    Why can’t I find dark chocolate walnut whips ? They’re one of my all-time favourite


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment