White chocolate with blueberries

Nope, these are no poppy seeds, these are blueberries embedded in this thin white chocolate bar. The branch is the same one I tried the whole milk pistachio chocolate from which is not too long ago, and as I wasn’t too satisfied by my last try, I hope this version is better.

But my first impression isn’t too great. The chocolate isn’t white at all. Blue-black dots everywhere and only on the bottom I can find a little place of plain white chocolate, which seems to have a yellow-greenish color, even though there is no vanilla in there, guess it comes from the blueberry powder used for this chocolate. No cream in there as well, but step by step…

The scent is fruity, a little artificial but still fruity. The closer you get to the bar, the stronger the milky aroma, coming from the actual white chocolate, gets. The mix up is alright, but the slightly artificial smell remains disturbing.

When I break this chocolate, there is a small crack, but basically it is rather smooth. The texture is alright, but hardly average. The white chocolate lacks a good melt and creaminess, and the blueberries are similar to soft brittle pieces: they add a hint of crunch to the bar.

Basically, this chocolate treat is an under-average white chocolate filled with artificially manufactured fruit. The white chocolate is not as milky as I hoped and I find no sign of real chocolate. Then there are those first sweet, then sour-turning blueberry-pellets that add a little fruit, fortunately less artificial than its smell; but both, the milk and the fruit seem only bytastes, the main flavor in there is simply…nothing.

I am not sure where to put this bar. It is edible and not worse than the sickly pistachio chocolate I ate a while ago. And yet, I can hardly name this treat a chocolate…

4 out of 10

Name: white chocolate with blueberries
Branch: Das Exquisite, Rossmann
Price: 0.99 Euro
Calories: 590kcal per 100g
Fat: 40g per 100g
Size: 100g

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    So sad to hear that this wasn’t good, because a nice tart blueberry with good, creamy white chocolate would be wonderful. Thanks for the heads up!

  2. 2

    White-chocolate-blueberry-candy-appreciator said,

    You’re out of your mind! This is the most delicious bar of edibility I’ve had in … a long time.
    Granted, chocolate in America sucks.
    (I’m a fan of white chocolate and blueberries and this is a winner in my book, wish I knew a good import place).


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

