December 5th ~ pineapple marzipan

Even though pineapple is my favorite fruit, I would not count pineapple marzipan as my favorite version of marzipan; and yet it is tempting! I have to admit I’ve tried it before, so basically I know what I got in here.

Most of the time, Niederegger has this thin semi-bitter chocolate shell filled with an enormously juicy type of marzipan. And this one is juicy as usual, with a nice raw texture floating over your tongue.

The pineapple is distinguishable from the rest and there is some nice fruity edge, while on the other hand it is rather decent, so it would not interfere with the actual taste of marzipan. This is something that can go fatally wrong when trying to combine fruit and marzipan. Especially if you’re attempting to make the fruit the main aroma of the marzipan: The fruit will overshadow the nutty marzipan aroma and make the treat fruity but lacking the actual taste of marzipan. Every time I get a treat like this I feel kind of spoiled: I bought marzipan without any marzipan flavor…
But I won’t complain this time, the balance is very well chosen, I really enjoy this treat, even though I’d rather go for plain marzipan!

8 out of 10

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Sounds delicious, I love it when candy makers get the flavor balance just right.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

