Ritter Sport Grapes and nuts

This week’s Ritter Sport of the week is: Raisins and Nuts! At first I wasn’t really looking forward to trying this bar, basically because I was totally disappointed by its organic equivalent with cashews. This one comes with hazelnuts and is a non-organic product. Still, my first impression was way better than what I expected it to be: While the organic bar really lacked grapes/raisins, this bar contains a lot more of them. I can not only see them when I break the bar into pieces, but also glimmering through the wholemilk chocolate they are embedded in. Also a few nuts are visible, and only this fact raises my mood concerning trying this treat.

Its smell is sweet but nutty. There is a lot of milk in there, but it does not seem to be rich of cocoa, even for a milk chocolate. The grapes are not too intensive aroma-wise; but in fact I did not really except them to be. There is just a glimpse of fruit covered by the nice hazelnutty aroma.

Flavor-wise this bar is not too convincing, and yet this is one of the oldest Ritter Sport products. I know raisins and nuts make a filling which is really famous among chocolate flavors.

The chocolate itself seems to be my problem; I don’t really enjoy this sweet-milky light chocolate. The nuts are a little too dry, yet their taste is alright. This mixture does not have any lead-flavor. There is milk chocolate, there are nuts and raisins, but nothing does really dominate the bar, except for the sugar in there.

The texture really depends on the nut and raisins’s quality. As I said, some nuts are far too dry, and not crunchy at the same time. The raisins are soft and chewy, but rather similar to jelly than dried fruit. And the chocolate? Has an average melt but it is not too creamy. So, sometimes it is really nice while at others I find it a little rancid.

My final opinion? It is alright, but nothing outstanding. There have to be lots of people who love this chocolate, as otherwise it would not have been on the market for that long. Almost every branch has a gapes-nut chocolate in their range, so I really suggest you should have tried it once, even if you do not like raisins without or in chocolate (by the way, I’d never eat raisins without chocolate!)

6 out of 10

Name: Grapes and nuts
Branch: Ritter Sport
Price: 0.85 Euro
Calories: 501kcal per 100g
Fat: 29g per 100g
Size: 100g

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Ana said,

    I’ve never tried this bar, but the first Ritter Sport bar that I’ve tried was the Rum Raisin & Hazelnut bar (the one in the red wrapper) and I liked it a lot, even though I’m not a hazelnut fan. But I love rum & raisin, I often eat bags of raisins on their own.

  2. 2

    I enjoyed this one myself. Good review. I want to try the rum, raisin and nut Ritter Sport next!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

