Nestlé Smarties

I guess I don’t need to tell you what Nestlé’s Smarties look like, right? Thumbnail sized flat and round shaped milk chocolate, covered with a colored sugarcoating. They come in eight different colors and each of the colors has its own slightly different flavored coating. The chocolate inside is the same all the time.

Yeah, the coatings taste different. Some people claim they don’t, but they actually to. Yellow is the least sweet version, the orange one has a glimpse of citrus as well, but it tastes rather like an orange. The green one does not contain any citrus like taste at all, and so do the other colors. For me, the brown one does really go well with the chocolate, even though I cannot make out a specific flavor. The red and pink ones taste really “fruity” compared to the others and I find them kind of fresh. The blue ones are my favorite. They have an acerb bytaste what comes in nice in connection with the sweet chocolate filling.
The coating is crispy and crunches when you chew it. At the same time, you can let it melt away in your mouth away, do it just as you prefer it! Sometimes I break the coating and eat the chocolate first, or I leave the treat in my mouth until the sugarcoating is melted away and I feel the melting of the smooth milk chocolate. 

The milk chocolate is, as I already stated, smooth and melts really easily. It is rather sweet and unfortunately not really rich of cocoa.

They are not artificially colored anymore and in comparison to past versions, their color is a little lighter. A bummer I do not have any old pictures of them, but I remember me being taken by surprise when I saw the ‘new’ versions after a while.

6.5 out of 10

Name: Smarties
Branch: Nestlé
Price: 1.59 Euro
Size: 200g
Calories: 460kcel per 100g
Fat: 18g per 100g

Leave a Reply

