Ritter Sport Peppermint

This week’s Ritter Sport in the spotlight is the peppermint version. Geek, they got me… There are only a few chocolate versions I really dislike – after eight for example, because I do not like the mint in combination with chocolate – as a chewing gum, this is perfectly fine! But then there are two different ways to add mint to a chocolate: Either some kind of aroma in the plain chocolate, or a white creamy mint filling. The latter is the version sounding more repelling to me, and guess what the Ritter Sport chocolate is like – right, dark semi-sweet chocolate filled with this white mint thingy. The mint aroma gets through as soon as you open the foil, even though it does not fully overshadow the rich dark chocolate shell surrounding it. It is fresh and slightly acerb, just like a peppermint chewing gum.

The chunks are completely separated in this case, so you have to bite right in it to see, feel and taste it. Okay, I have to admit, it is not as bad as I expected it to be! The chocolate coating is nice and before you hit the fresh mint flavor, there is a nice rich taste of chocolate coming from the mid-thick coating. It is pretty solid but still easy to chew and makes a nice contrast to the smooth and sticky mint fondant filling on the inside. The peppermint filling is fresh and immediately remembers me of all the after eights I’ve tried so far, and the Milka bar I tested recently. Personally, I’d put this bar somewhere in between those products, but quality-wise it is better than the Milka bar, especially the actual chocolate part. It is not Ritter Sport’s fault that mint is just not my type of flavor.

As Ben wrote in his “Ritter Sport of the week” post on the Ritter blog, you either hate or love this chocolate. I guess that’s totally true!

7.5 out of 10

Name: Peppermint
Branch: Ritter Sport
Price: 0.85 Euro
Size: 100g
Calories: 488kcal per 100g
Fat: 27g per 100g

Leave a Reply

