Mars almond

I have to admit I’m not a huge fan of the original German version of the Mars bar. For me, it is simply too sickly, lacks a nice texture and is boring. The milk chocolate coating isn’t too good and the candy crème (why do they call it nougat in English?) is nothing outstanding either. To be honest, the chocolate is almost below average, but you can eat it; at least it is milky.

As I like almonds, I thought I’d give this version a try when I saw it at a local gas station single packaged. I did not want to buy an entire sixpack of a bar I usually don’t like that much.

My first thought when I smelled the bar was: Dog goodies. This bar really reminds me of the ‘chocolate’ drops I give my dog when practicing. He loves them, but I am not too fond of them.

A glance on the inside of this bar lightens my mood: Really huge almonds embedded in the candy crème – this will be quite a change to the original version, and I am really glad because of that! The inside smells a lot like a caramel-candy-crème mix-up. The almonds are less intensive aromawise, but that’s totally alright.

This bar totally differs from the original version: The chewy, crunchy nut-experience is amazingly combined with the smoothness of the caramel, the crème and the milk chocolate. There are big and small nuts, some little parts do not contain any nuts, I like the divertion!

The overall taste is really (!) nutty and you can taste the almonds very well. They are juice and have a quite decent quality. Further, the salty flavor coming from the nuts alternates with the sweet candy and chocolate taste, which is really tasty. The chocolate coating isn’t really better than in the original version, still the combination is _way_ better.

I have to admit, this bar really surprised me – in a positive way. They still can work on their chocolate and improve their ingredients-quality, but I am almost certain that this won’t happen. But if you’re a fan of almonds, you need to try it!

7 out of 10

Name: Mars Almond
Branch: Mars
Price: 0.59 Euro
Calories: 245kcal per bar, 501kcal per 100g
Fat: 12.9g per bar, 26.4per 100g

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Rodzilla said,

    I wonder how this compares to the snickers almond we have in the states

  2. 3

    Roro said,

    Mars bar isn’t German, It’s originally from England


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

