Twix Peanut butter

I knew it was a bit risky to order chocolate from the UK at the beginning of June, and I also knew that we had the first really hot days of the year to come by the time I ordered a huge package of chocolate, but I just needed to get hold of those Wonka bars; and because there were several other American bars available, I took my chance and ordered a lot of peanut butter treats, one of them is the Twix PB bar.

It did not really survive the journey too well. The two fingers stuck together, the coating was greasy and sticky, I could see the white cocoa butter. Still, the aroma remained amazing: Even though the shiny red-golden wrapper was still locked up, I could smell an intensive peanut butter aroma coming from in there.

Except for the greasy coating it looks different from all the Twix bars I’ve seen. The top is way smoother; I miss the “waves” in the coating. The cookie inside the bar is dark and I find it really cool-looking in contrast to the mid-brown milk chocolate coating and the peanut butter layer which covers the cookie.

I am surprised by the taste. Actually, I don’t think it has too much in common with the original Twix. We have a nice sweet milk chocolate, not too rich but milky. It is too thin to get sickly; as soon as you taste it, you taste the salty peanut butter as well. It is saltier than the Reese’s peanut butter, but unfortunately very dry. The dark cookie seems similar to those Oreo cookies, again, drier than the cookie in the original Twix. It is just the smooth milk chocolate layer that keeps the treat from getting more and more inside your mouth. Plus, it totally lacks crunchiness. I miss the crunchy but juicy experience when the cookie usually mixes up with the caramel layer.

All in all, I was a little disappointed, yes. But not because it is a bad treat, just because I expected it to be better. I’ve always liked Twix as a child, it had been my favorite bar for years and this dry and slacky texture really bugs me.

5.5 out of 10

Name: Twix PB
Branch: mars
Price: 0.95 Euro
Calories: 250kcal per package
Fat: 15g per package

Leave a Reply

