Cadbury Full of Plenty berryfruit and vanilla shortbread

I’m not too well at the moment, but I need to do this today – there are so many reviews I’ve already written that just have to be posted, that I hardly find some of them in the mess I made on my notebook.

This is a chocolate I received in a candy swap, more specific, my first candy swap ever. I was totally thrilled when I saw the bar – the wrapper looks really tempting.

The chocolate is really milky and sweet, definitely what I expected of a Cadbury bar. There are not a lot parts without any added shortbread or dried fruit, but even those pieces taste a little like berries. I like the fruity flavor, it goes really well with the chocolate.

The pieces of tried fruit are awesome. They all are slightly sour, but you can distinguish between the different berries. While the elderberry is the fruitiest one, the strawberry is the sourest fruit. The cranberries are the chewiest fruit, and I am not too keen on them.
The vanilla shortbread tastes like simple buttery cookies. In Germany this seems to be a rare combination, we do not have cookies inside a chocolate treat, especially not shortbread, which contains more butter than cookies around here. I like this combination; and for me it is a new experience.

The texture is really varying. When you hit the vanilla shortbread, the bar is slightly crunchy, the dried berries on the other hand are chewy, similar to jelly. When you chew the chocolate, you feel the great mixture of melting creamy milk chocolate, crunching pieces of shortbread and when they are gone, the dried fruits will stay in your mouth, leaving you some pieces to chew.

In the end the chocolate itself is delicious, even though it is not really high quality. It stays in line with typical Cadbury products, but the entire combination of the components make it better than just average.

I really need to get hold of the other bars!

6.5 Out of 10

Name: Full of Plenty berryfruit and vanilla shortbread
Branch: Cadbury
Price: 2.70 Euro per 140g bar
Calories:505kcal per 100g
Fat: 26.4g per 100g

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Alan said,

    I was also quite impressed when this bar was released here in the UK, along with two other varieties: Toffee Apple and a nutty one I can’t quite remember the name of. It had cashews and hazlenuts in i think. This shortbread one was my favourite, I found the toffee apple a bit sweet and the nut one a bit plain but if you can get hold of them they’d be worth trying.
    I like the way the berries really taste very fresh and fruity rather than just a generic artificial red fruit flavour.

  2. 2

    Doublesided said,

    So glad you got round to trying the chocolate I sent you!! I’ll be happy to arrange a swap in the future for the other bars if you fancy it – just shout! Hope you’re feeling better soon =) Doublesided x

    • 3

      NoSunToday said,

      Yeah, I really liked it 🙂 For this huge bar I was done with it way to fast, but hey, it was worth it 🙂 I’ll leave you a message on swap bot 😉

  3. 4

    drop30 said,

    I am tempted to try the roasted cashew and hazelnut bar, I don’t usually eat milk chocolate but that mix of nuts has me intrigued.

    • 5

      NoSunToday said,

      Yeah, the cashew bar is the one that’s tempting me most as well… I love cashews and they usually make a great combination with chocolate. But I’d like to see them in a dark chocolate, that would be awesome!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

