Ritter Sport Hazelnut Brittle

Another crème filled version. This time the crème consists of hazelnuts and comes with pieces of krokant. So you can say this is a very nutty version. The chocolate smells all nutty and I am starting to look forward to trying this version. Though, my sceptism remains as I am not too fond of Ritter Sport’s new creations.

The first thing I realize is the crunch the brittle provides. I like the texture from the very beginning: A creamy hazelnut crème which is softer than most other Ritter Sport fillings, filled with tiny pieces of krokant that are really crunchy. The milk chocolate coating is just as usual: It is creamy and melts easily; nothing exceptional but worth the price.

In the beginning, the flavor does not really satisfy me. It smells nuttier than it actually tastes. The creme is rather milky than nutty, and I miss the taste of almonds in the brittle. Just the hazelnut pieces provide a small amount of nut flavor, but compared to the rest of the chocolate, this taste is rather a bytaste. It is not bad, but I would have expected a nuttier taste.
Though, I get more and more into the taste and the intensity of the flavor seems to vary a little depending on which part of my bar I eat, as there are sometimes more and sometimes less pieces of hazelnut and brittle in there.
Don’t get me wrong, I like this chocolate, especially compared to the price. Though, I’ve eaten better, tastier versions of embedded brittle in chocolate cream; and the hazelnut is nothing too special. For me, this treat is alright, but not Ritter’s best work.

7 out of 10

Name: Hazelnut brittle
Branch: Ritter Sport
Price: 0.85 Euro
Calories: 565kcal per 100g
Fat: 37g per 100g

Leave a Reply

