Nestlé Drifter

I tried to avoid any kind of wafer bar today, as I had one yesterday and the day before yesterday (reviews are about to come later!) and I really am not too much of a wafer fan. Anyway, I thought Drifter would be similar to twix and I never expected it to be a wafer bar… I simply overlooked the words “crispy wafer” on the wrapper.

When opening the blue, simple designed wrapper you get to smell a really sweet sense of chocolate. I am used to this smell when having Hershey’s or Cadbury chocolate in front of me, but this sweetness by Nestlé is new to me. I know, Nestlé has some sweet bars, but they usually do not smell that sweet. Anyway, the aroma does not make the taste of the bar.

The two fingers are a little larger than a Twix. Breaking the bar into two pieces wasn’t too easy, the bar is very solid. Four wafers divided by chocolate cream make the inner filling. These are dipped in chewy caramel and covered with milk chocolate. You have to put a lot of effort in chewing these fingers. KitKat once had a similar texture, but that was before they added some more crunch into the bar. Compared to the wafers and the caramel layer, the chocolate coating is rather thin, but that is just alright.

I was surprised by the taste of this bar. As I already stated the texture is different from other wafer bars, not as crunchy, but really chewy. And so is the taste: The dominating flavors in the bar are definitely the caramel and the chocolate cream. Even though there are four layers of wafer, their taste only comes through after a bit of chewing, when the chocolate coating and the caramel have melted in your mouth. Overall, this is a really well-rounded bar.

The taste really lighted up my mood after finding out that it would be a wafer bar again today. And what I like even more is that the wrapper tells me that the chocolate is actually chocolate. Well done, Nestlé!

7 out of 10

Name: Drifter
Branch: Nestlé
Price: 0.99 Euro
Calories: 264kcal per package, 487kcal per 100g

Leave a Reply

