Twix Dark

I’ve always wanted to try them, but I did not want to buy an entire package of 5 Twix, so I thought I had missed my chance, as it was only a limited version in Germany. Luckily, I just got one yesterday with my last candy order from candyandmore. I was so glad I finally got hold of one of those twix.

The wrapper is darker and not as shiny as the one from the original one. It is rather brown than golden, suitable for a bar containing dark chocolate instead of a milky version.

First thing I realized after opening the wrapper is the smell of dark chocolate. It is strange as I somehow miss the sweetness of the original Twix, but it is not repelling or anything. It is just…abnormal. I just think of it as an adventure.

The texture basically is identical to the original twix bar. A bit more than half of the bar consists of a crunchy cookie, topped with caramel, coated in a mid-thick dark chocolate layer. It is crunchy and creamy at the same time, it mixes very well and the chocolate melts while chewing. Of course it is not as creamy as the milk chocolate version, but that was expectable, as there isn’t as much milk in it, but that does not reduce the quality of the texture at all. To be honest, I really like it!

The taste is outstanding. You remember the sickly sweetness of a original twix bar? You remember the feeling of not having eaten anything after a bar? Well, they got rid of that! The bar is neither sickly, nor bitter. The caramel takes away the bitterness of the dark chocolate, and the chocolate prevents this bar from getting sickly. Really a nice blend. Even if you’re not ‘the’ bitter chocolate fan, you should give it a try.

I spend way more time eating the dark version than the normal one. You really have the feeling of eating something and it satisfies you. It is so sad that I haven’t picked it up before – I am sure I would have loved the multipack!

9 out of 10

Name: Twix dark
Branch: Mars
Price: 0.59 Euro
Calories: 286kcal per bar, 494kcal per 100g

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Mandy said,

    This bar is my absolute favorite!! 🙂 Sooo extremely delicious!! Yammiee…. 😀


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

