Derby Brittle egg

I wrote this review weeks ago. It was one of the first things I tried at around Easter, but I just could not get this up until now. I wish I had done a more detailed review, but when I started out I didn’t really knew how to deal with reviewing. The picture isn’t that good as well; but still I want you to have this!

This one is one of the favorites of my mother. I really had to fight to get one of her eggs for reviewing. Not the high quality version I have here, I will get that next Season.

The mid-thick chocolate coating smells like sweet milk chocolate suiting to a usually sickly sweet crocant filling. It is creamy and melts really good, but I’d love to have a more intensive taste of chocolate.

Brittle is mainly made of hazelnuts  and sugar and it is very crunchy. The texture is alike a 5th Avenue bar from Hershey’s. You see, it was almost impossible to cut it into pieces with a knife, this candy is just made for taking bite after bite (It is just too much to put the entire 10g egg into your mouth! Not really recommendable!). As expected it is really sweet! Personally, I’d prefer bitter chocolate to the milk version to have a better contrast to the brittle filling.

Even though its sweetness, there is something special about that egg. I don’t really know why, but I kind of enjoy eating it. It differs from all the crème filled eggs around Easter. But I cannot deny the fact that the chocolate is rather low quality, and so is the brittle.

5 out of 10

Name: Blaetter-Krokant
Branch: Derby
Price: 0.79 Euro
Calories: 498kcal per 100g, 85kcal per egg
Fat: 23g per 100g, 3.9g per egg

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Ana said,

    I’ve tried a few types of Derby eggs in the past two years and the Blatter-Krokant was the worst. Tried one, couldn’t even finish it, didn’t touch the others in the bag.

  2. 2

    Ben said,

    Don’t know what planet Ana is from but the Blaetter-Krokant
    I’ve enjoyed is simply wondeful! My friend from German brings them when she comes to visit and they are very coveted among my family. Wish I could find them online!!!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

